Longing

At night I lay
Curled up around my pillow
Cocooned in my blanket
Longing.

There’s an aching feeling
Of missing someone I have not met
Of loving someone I have yet to know
And of the desire to be loved in return.

When sleep finally takes me,
I am.
Loving and loved,
Not alone.

In my dreams I am held
In arms where I feel the safest
In a hug delicate as butterfly wings
But sure and warm as the rising sun.

I wake up with tears in my eyes
Crying for a memory that isn’t really mine
And I try to remember his face and his smile
But all that is left is my bursting heart.

I have written him many letters
Each one different than the rest
But all they say is
“I cannot wait to meet you.”



[Photo credit: butterfly series In Love by Michael Wong Loi Sing. I found the painting in SaatchiArt.com and it was described exactly the way I felt this piece to be:

“Art Description: Painting on four sides, woman blossoming on the thought of her lover; butterflies in her stomach, on one side she is a flower, on the two sides butterflies, and a profile, and on the presented side a young woman.”

The painting is just so amazing. You can rotate it and all 4 orientations will give you a different painting.]

Leave a comment